ChurchETHOS

What is a Church Planter?

Posted in church planting by Nathan Creitz on May 15, 2007

After three years of planting churches in Boston, I am discovering more and more that I don’t know what I am. Church planters have to be evangelists, shepherds, teachers, entrepreneurs, fundraisers, visionaries, counselors, disciplers, mentors, coaches, researchers, cultural apologists, theologians, friends, motivators, time managers, administrators, students, networkers, and servants. I may think of some more and just republish this post with the new additions.

Some days (like today), I am overwhelmed by my responsibility. Today, however, I met with a small group of pastors for the first time to begin holding each other accountable specifically for personal evangelism. Ultimately, we have been called ambassadors for Christ as though God were making an appeal to the world THROUGH US that the world might be reconciled to God. In view of all the other things that I have to do in a typical week, I can never forget that I am here (just like all believers) to make known the good news about Jesus Christ and reveal the story of God in the hearts and lives of the people I interact with.

Church planting is a daunting task, but when it boils down to what God requires of all believers, we should be following Christ every day. I’m sure I can accomplish my administrative responsibilities in a couple of hours a day and leave the rest of the day for personal study and personal relationships. Those are the important things.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. "Dootz" said, on May 28, 2007 at 8.47 pm

    Keep the faith, brother, and remember to let the Lord do the heavy lifting…

    ******
    http://surfcountry.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

