ChurchETHOS

Serving Leaders and Leading Servers

Posted in church planting, discipleship by Nathan Creitz on January 21, 2006

We are getting ready to send out giving statements for 2005 IRS records. Today, I took some time working with Anne getting our financial records in order. While I was over there I worked with Bianca to clean up our church contact list. We separated our “church family” list from our contacts list. So, our financial records and our contact info is starting to get organized.

It’s amazing how many people in our church are beginning to help with some of our details. I’m really glad I don’t have to write our checks and keep up with logging our credits and debits. It’s great to have someone who will keep track of who visited our church and people who follow up with them (in addition to my personal follow up). I no longer do anything with our campus outreach other than advise and encourage. Pretty soon, we will have a website that I didn’t have to build.

Some in our church family are hosting Community Groups in their apartments, they are cooking the meals, they are organizing community service and outreach projects, they are getting the word out to others to get involved. Others in the church are a part of the worship team and either sing or play an instrument or help setup. We have three girls that help me plan and think through details for mission projects, mission teams, church activities. Many in the church are personally involved in sharing their faith, holding each other accountable, memorizing Scripture, loving God.

It’s really hard to believe. With so many people doing so much, I believe that we are getting close to hitting our stride in ministry. The Lord has been adding to our number, but I believe that He is going to begin multiplying. I love the fact that, even though we have a lot to learn, our church is actually beginning to act the way we are commanded to act in Scripture. As pastor, I am supposed to equip and teach and enable others to use their spiritual gifts for the glory of God.

So, even though it’s Saturday, I’ve gotten a lot done. Not to mention revising and reviewing my sermon, and, of course, typing out this blog. I’m not sure what value this will be to anyone else, but sometimes I just have to ponder in amazement the things that God is doing in the life of our church. I want to be a humble servant to help these great leaders that have risen up in our church, and I hope I will be worthy to lead them effectively as they serve Christ with their talents and gifts.

Boston (42° 21′ , -71° 7′)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Scott Slayton said, on January 21, 2006 at 6.52 pm

    Nathan, email me at jsslayton@gmail.com. I had a couple of questions for you.


Leave a Reply

